Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: ǷΘΘϺ

Adopted Bronco:
    Javonte Williams

Default ǷΘΘϺ

There is a new Doom game. I just bought it. I hope it's good. They say it's good.

I've played all the Dooms. I think.

I started when the original came out--I was a freshman in college and we just figured out how to do 4-player LAN parties in the dorms. '93-ish.

Then Doom 2 came along shortly thereafter, many hours were squandered. I loved the aesthetic--the wall textures were so hellish and compelling. Combine this with the freedom of a 19 y/o who only has to get good grades and whatever other bother they assign for you at a military academy, add some Downward Spiral and Offspring, garnish with parsley, viola!

It took a while until another good title came along, but I remember playing Doom 3 while still active duty back in the Springs. I was dipping then, and I remember I'd throw one in, turn out the lights, and immerse in the game. This one had a good amount of tension--the others never had jumpscares or whatever, or they were not that effective, but this one had a few. I remember enjoying it, but it was also like that 3d album from a great band that sounds a lot like the first two albums. The aesthetic was still outstanding, and this time the shadows and sound were also phenomenal.

Still, it was diminishing returns at this point. HL2 came out around the same time--no question which game was superior.

Then the reboot a few years ago. Doom was a cliche by then, but it got good reviews so I gave it a try. Turned out to be very tight--that great band got together and put out some quality material. I played through it a couple of times, solid shooter.

So, here we are. I'm a sucker for the Gogol hell-incarnate dreamscapes set to metal/techno with some kind of shotgun and weird hell-spawn with bad intentions.

Quote Originally Posted by Sting