Page 1 of 29 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: The REAL auto thread!

Adopted Bronco:
    Drew Lock

Default The REAL auto thread!

Hi

After reading through Beef and Nuts Small Engine thread which veered into Beefs usual nonsense (it was in the Lounge after all) I thought we needed something on a more serious note.

Im not a mechanic but i have done plenty of work on my own cars. I've owned almost 30 cars in about 25 years. Ive done a lot of work myself on them from oil changes to tune ups and small repairs. I've worked with primarily one mechanic for much of that time.

There were questions asked in that thread about simpler things, like oil viscosity to spark plugs to fluids.

If anyone has any questions or if I could be of meaningful help for anything at all, post here.
    "I may not be a mathematician, but I can count to a million." - Shannon Sharpe

2. The Following User High Fived Shazam! For This Post:

Lol. Sounds like you go through vehicles extremely quickly. With proper maintenance you could probably avoid that.
    Last edited by Timmy!; 03-20-2018 at 08:31 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by King87 View Post
    All must hail NostraTimmy!
    Quote Originally Posted by chazoe60 View Post
    Nostratimmy was right again. All hail nostratimmy.
    Quote Originally Posted by MOtorboat View Post
    I’m the hobbit.

4. The Following 2 Users High Fived Timmy! For This Post:

Adopted Bronco:
    Drew Lock

Nah, I usually sell and upgrade. I keep maintenance tight.

I have a half ton dodge with a 4.7 litre motor. The gas mileage has been frustrating
    I was only getting 11, then I had the plugs changed and bought a K&N filter (thinking about switching to a cold air intake because I’m not happy with the responsiveness of the motor). After those changes it went up to 12.5mpg. I assumed my mileage should be much better so I had the fuel pump and filter replaced and my mileage promptly dropped back to 10. Ugh!