Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 58

Thread: New graphics card for PC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Adopted Bronco:
    Todd Davis
    Posts
    15,234

    Default New graphics card for PC

    It's been a long time since I built my system, thinking about replacing the graphics card. There's one on amazon for $150 or so, looks like the solution for my laggy ass games. Don't think I need to bump the RAM (at 6gb right now) or CPU.

    There you have it.
    The sharp edge of a razor is difficult to pass over; thus the wise say the path to Salvation is hard.

    Link to Abe's Sept '18 30 day song challenge: http://www.broncosforums.com/forums/...21#post2790421

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Centennial (which is in Colorado)
    Adopted Bronco:
    Meck
    Posts
    18,868

    Default

    What card do you have now? What are your expectations for it?

    I've been wanting to do this all summer long, but the ******* etherium miners have the GPUs at 150% or so of MSRP... at one point it was basically double...

    It's not so bad at the moment, probably around 110% or so of MSRP, but still.. ******* crypto currency ********.

  3. The Following User High Fived wayninja For This Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Adopted Bronco:
    Todd Davis
    Posts
    15,234

    Default

    Radion 5700 I think. Looking at this bad boy.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

    I want to run The Long Dark and Subnautica without freezes, which is what I'm getting lately. Games like Witcher 3 aren't running that great.
    The sharp edge of a razor is difficult to pass over; thus the wise say the path to Salvation is hard.

    Link to Abe's Sept '18 30 day song challenge: http://www.broncosforums.com/forums/...21#post2790421

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Big Sky Country
    Posts
    19,373

    Default

    Bump that ram man.
    Quote Originally Posted by Joel View Post
    Timmy's right
    Quote Originally Posted by chazoe60 View Post
    Nostratimmy was right again. All hail nostratimmy.
    Quote Originally Posted by MOtorboat View Post
    Iím the hobbit.

  6. The Following User High Fived Timmy! For This Post:


  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Centennial (which is in Colorado)
    Adopted Bronco:
    Meck
    Posts
    18,868

    Default

    Ok, so what's your expectation for it? Are you looking to do any VR?

    What processor do you have?

    It's a pretty decent card and would probably do well in a fairly older system, but if you want to do high end 4k graphics or VR, this is probably isn't the right choice. But if your CPU is lower end anyway, you may not want a top end video card until you upgrade the rest.

    This would probably play the witcher 3 decently, but certainly not on max settings if you want a smooth framerate. Subnautica is a mixed bag because the game is still in EA and graphics optimizations simply haven't been done yet, so your mileage may vary. Once they hit that point though, I would expect this to do fine with it (I can do subnautica fairly well with my GTX 960, and the 1050 ti is probably roughly equivalent).

    A 1050ti is far from future proof, fwiw.
    Last edited by wayninja; 10-11-2017 at 09:41 PM.

  8. The Following User High Fived wayninja For This Post:


  9. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Adopted Bronco:
    Todd Davis
    Posts
    15,234

    Default

    I don't have any plans for VR now. Running an i7, can't recall the build but here's the info

    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz, 3068 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)

    running on an asus p6x58d/e.

    Would like it to improve resolution, frame rate on PC games running at 1920x1080.
    The sharp edge of a razor is difficult to pass over; thus the wise say the path to Salvation is hard.

    Link to Abe's Sept '18 30 day song challenge: http://www.broncosforums.com/forums/...21#post2790421

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Adopted Bronco:
    Todd Davis
    Posts
    15,234

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Timmy! View Post
    Bump that ram man.
    Thinking about it...can add another 6 gigs for 50 bux.
    The sharp edge of a razor is difficult to pass over; thus the wise say the path to Salvation is hard.

    Link to Abe's Sept '18 30 day song challenge: http://www.broncosforums.com/forums/...21#post2790421

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sheridan, Wyoming
    Adopted Bronco:
    Chris Harris Jr.
    Posts
    4,740

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hawgdriver View Post
    Thinking about it...can add another 6 gigs for 50 bux.
    Would add as much RAM as possible.
    2009 Broncos Forums Pick'em King
    2011 Broncos Forums Survival Football Champion


  12. The Following User High Fived Canmore For This Post:


  13. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Adopted Bronco:
    Todd Davis
    Posts
    15,234

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Canmore View Post
    Would add as much RAM as possible.
    The thing can take 24gig, but that seems like overkill.
    The sharp edge of a razor is difficult to pass over; thus the wise say the path to Salvation is hard.

    Link to Abe's Sept '18 30 day song challenge: http://www.broncosforums.com/forums/...21#post2790421

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Centennial (which is in Colorado)
    Adopted Bronco:
    Meck
    Posts
    18,868

    Default

    It is overkill. You have a first generation core processor (going on what 9 years old now?) a graphics card 3 or 4 generations old. Is it safe to assume are also not using a SSD for storage/OS?

    You could add a bit of RAM, but at some point, and probably sooner rather than later, you are going to be looking to do more than patch the boat. Worth it to do a little now or just wait and do it semi-right and reset that obsolescence meter?

  15. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sheridan, Wyoming
    Adopted Bronco:
    Chris Harris Jr.
    Posts
    4,740

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wayninja View Post
    It is overkill. You have a first generation core processor (going on what 9 years old now?) a graphics card 3 or 4 generations old. Is it safe to assume are also not using a SSD for storage/OS?

    You could add a bit of RAM, but at some point, and probably sooner rather than later, you are going to be looking to do more than patch the boat. Worth it to do a little now or just wait and do it semi-right and reset that obsolescence meter?
    That probably makes more sense...start over. Yet I get the impression that that's not what you want to do.
    2009 Broncos Forums Pick'em King
    2011 Broncos Forums Survival Football Champion


  16. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Adopted Bronco:
    Todd Davis
    Posts
    15,234

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wayninja View Post
    It is overkill. You have a first generation core processor (going on what 9 years old now?) a graphics card 3 or 4 generations old. Is it safe to assume are also not using a SSD for storage/OS?

    You could add a bit of RAM, but at some point, and probably sooner rather than later, you are going to be looking to do more than patch the boat. Worth it to do a little now or just wait and do it semi-right and reset that obsolescence meter?
    I can't justify spending 1k on a gaming platform, but 150...sure.
    The sharp edge of a razor is difficult to pass over; thus the wise say the path to Salvation is hard.

    Link to Abe's Sept '18 30 day song challenge: http://www.broncosforums.com/forums/...21#post2790421

  17. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Centennial (which is in Colorado)
    Adopted Bronco:
    Meck
    Posts
    18,868

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hawgdriver View Post
    I can't justify spending 1k on a gaming platform, but 150...sure.
    Fair enough, if you are on a budget and likely aren't looking to upgrade in the next year or two, a 1050 ti and maybe 4-6 more GB of RAM will likely let you coast on midsettings for a few years with a decent-fair experience with most games.

  18. The Following User High Fived wayninja For This Post:


  19. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Adopted Bronco:
    Todd Davis
    Posts
    15,234

    Default

    I ended up getting 6 additional gigs of ram to bring it to 12gig, and a 1050 NVidia card w/ 2 gigs of ram (not ti), both items $180. Miners sent the TI prices up and up.

    Anyway, new gear has delivered substantial performance improvement.

    My mobo has multiple PCI-e slots, and right now I'm running the old video card (radeon 5770) and the new. That shouldn't hamper performance, right? I could always benchmark each configuration, but I'm ok with things since my demanding games are running well now.

    Merry Christmas me!
    The sharp edge of a razor is difficult to pass over; thus the wise say the path to Salvation is hard.

    Link to Abe's Sept '18 30 day song challenge: http://www.broncosforums.com/forums/...21#post2790421

  20. The Following 2 Users High Fived Hawgdriver For This Post:


  21. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Centennial (which is in Colorado)
    Adopted Bronco:
    Meck
    Posts
    18,868

    Default

    Unless you are using crossfire/SLI, I'm not sure what the benefit of running both is, unless you have multiple monitors or something.

Go
Shop AFC Champions and Super Bowl gear at the official online Pro Shop of the Denver Broncos!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. If anyone needs graphics
    By OhSnap! in forum Graphics Gallery and Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 08:18 PM
  2. Is this a video/graphics card problem?
    By gnomeflinger in forum Technology and Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 03:09 PM
  3. Graphics Help Please!!!
    By getlynched47 in forum Graphics Gallery and Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-01-2009, 08:52 PM
  4. Graphics
    By Cgantz20 in forum Town Hall Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-28-2007, 08:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
status.broncosforums.com - BroncosForums status updates
Partner with the USA Today Sports Media Group