Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: what did you want to be when you grew up?

Default what did you want to be when you grew up?

this place is kinda boring in the off season. I want to hear some stories. The thread title is suggestive enough I think. what is your field and do you get fulfillment from it? do you ever feel as if you missed your calling? what did you dream of doing? what inspired you? how did that change if at all? any particular person influence or inspire you? I myself became pretty disillusioned with a lot of things that I thought would be cool. I was a history undergrad (no idea what I wanted to do, just to get out in 4 years, possibly law school down the road) never was interested in teaching. then science intrigued me and that's what I've been doing the last 25 years. I worked a lot of shit jobs early on. anyway, let's hear it, if you're so inclined

2. The Following User High Fived BroncoNut For This Post:

Adopted Bronco:
    Richard Simmons

A rabbit breeder.

4. The Following User High Fived BeefStew25 For This Post:

if your just going to take shots at me, I'd appreciate that you not participate in this thread

Adopted Bronco:
    Rey

Great idea Gapper,

I wanted to be a professional soccer player, if the chips fell differently at various stages of my life it could have been a reality (not lionel messi level, but i could have been a fairly good journeyman) But drink and drugs intervened and i ended up a bit of a mess.

Then one day, whilst in a drunken state, my friend came back from Bosnia - told me that i should join the army, so the following day, he appeared at my house, told me to shave and took me to the careers office.

My plan was to do three years, sort myself out then leave and become a holiday rep in Ibiza.

3 years came and went, my goals started changing to be more military focused, promotion, become a recruit instructor, to serve in various places, to run faster etc etc