LAS VEGAS Nathan MacKinnon is likely to become the second Avalanche player in the past three years to win the NHL's rookie of the year award Tuesday night in Las Vegas.

The 18-year-old forward from Nova Scotia is the favorite to win the Calder Trophy, besting Tampa Bay Lightning forwards Tyler Johnson and Ondrej Palat. He would join Gabe Landeskog as recent winners of the award for the Avs. Landeskog won it in 2012.

Patrick Roy is up for NHL coach of the year, and Avs players Ryan O'Reilly (Lady Byng) and Semyon Varlamov (Vezina) also are contenders for awards.
rest -