Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 114

Thread: Thnikk's networking corner.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Adopted Bronco:
    PTBNL
    Posts
    22,560

    Default Thnikk's networking corner.

    In this thread, I'll do my best to answer any networking questions you may have. Based on the fact that I have young kids that are becoming computer literate faster than I thought they would, this will help all of us protect our children from the places that we would rather not have them go.

    I will also be happy to answer non-spy on your children's network activity networking topics here as well.
    I got mind control while I'm here
    You goin' hate me when I'm gone
    Ain't no blood clot and no fear
    I got hope inside of my bones

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Adopted Bronco:
    PTBNL
    Posts
    22,560

    Default

    For PAGS:

    The manual for your router can be accessed here:
    http://downloads.linksysbycisco.com/...1_UG_A-WEB.pdf

    If you go to page 15 of that PDF it will give you the access restrictions instructions. Basically, what you need to do is find the MAC address of the device you want to limit (her iPod - Click Settings/General/About It's shown as the Wi-Fi Address. It should be in the format of xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx)

    Create an access policy of the times you want to allow that device to access the internet, and apply it to that mac address only. Feel free to ask questions regarding the manual if it sounds like greek.
    I got mind control while I'm here
    You goin' hate me when I'm gone
    Ain't no blood clot and no fear
    I got hope inside of my bones

  3. The Following User High Fived Thnikkaman For This Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Adopted Bronco:
    PTBNL
    Posts
    22,560

    Default

    Gnome, I'm looking into seeing if your router is capable of what we had talked about in the other thread. Remind me if I forget to get back to you on this.
    I got mind control while I'm here
    You goin' hate me when I'm gone
    Ain't no blood clot and no fear
    I got hope inside of my bones

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    maryland usa
    Posts
    36,095

    Default

    good work Tink. Keep it up.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    11,873

    Default

    Is it possible to set up a network so I can print a document from a laptop and it will print to a non-wireless printer that is not wired to the laptop?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Adopted Bronco:
    PTBNL
    Posts
    22,560

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WTE View Post
    Is it possible to set up a network so I can print a document from a laptop and it will print to a non-wireless printer that is not wired to the laptop?
    It sure is. Is the printer connected to a computer that is on the network? If so, just share the printer from the computer that it is connected to, and then install that printer on your laptop.

    What's the Operating systems of the two computers, and I'll get you some details.
    I got mind control while I'm here
    You goin' hate me when I'm gone
    Ain't no blood clot and no fear
    I got hope inside of my bones

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    15,423

    Default

    Is it possible to wirekessky scan a document from a laptop. I can tirelessly print to it but for scanning it says I need USB. It would be wonderful to not have to disconnect my lap each time and move it over to the scanner to scan
    What I want:
    1 Shazier LB. 2 Donte Moncreif WR. 3 SJB CB. 4 Antone exum-s/cb. 5 Brandon Thomas-ol. 6. OL 7 Kapri Bibs RB.

    What I think:

    1.-If Mosley or Shazier is there they take him. If not, trade back with jacksonville (they want a Qb5 yr option)
    2A.- Jimmy Ward S/CB
    2B. Joel Bitonio T/OG
    3. SJB-cb.
    4. Preston Brown LB
    5. Jeff Janis WR
    6. John Brown-wr/kr.
    7. Alfred Blue-rb

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Adopted Bronco:
    PTBNL
    Posts
    22,560

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by underrated29 View Post
    Is it possible to wirekessky scan a document from a laptop. I can tirelessly print to it but for scanning it says I need USB. It would be wonderful to not have to disconnect my lap each time and move it over to the scanner to scan
    It is possible, but you need the right equipment to do so. I've been able to do so from my wireless printer, but not from a scanner that I had hooked up to another computer, or a wireless print server.
    I got mind control while I'm here
    You goin' hate me when I'm gone
    Ain't no blood clot and no fear
    I got hope inside of my bones

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    11,873

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thnikkaman View Post
    It sure is. Is the printer connected to a computer that is on the network? If so, just share the printer from the computer that it is connected to, and then install that printer on your laptop.

    What's the Operating systems of the two computers, and I'll get you some details.
    Windows 7 home premium on one and XP on the other.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Adopted Bronco:
    PTBNL
    Posts
    22,560

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WTE View Post
    Windows 7 home premium on one and XP on the other.
    Which one is the printer connected to?
    I got mind control while I'm here
    You goin' hate me when I'm gone
    Ain't no blood clot and no fear
    I got hope inside of my bones

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    11,873

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thnikkaman View Post
    Which one is the printer connected to?
    xp.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Adopted Bronco:
    PTBNL
    Posts
    22,560

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WTE View Post
    xp.
    So on the XP machine, go to Start->Printers and Faxes

    Right click on the printer you want to print from, and select "sharing", then select share this printer.

    On the Win 7 machine do this:

    1) Control Panel==> add LOCAL (Yes LOCAL) printer. I know it's on a Network but hold your horses -- what we are actually doing is "Poodlefaking" the Windows 7 machine into thinking it's running the printer.

    2) Create NEW port==>Local port

    3) Portname is \\XPMACHINE\SHAREDPRINTER

    4) Now Windows 7 will load a driver and you'll be able to print on the XP machine.
    I got mind control while I'm here
    You goin' hate me when I'm gone
    Ain't no blood clot and no fear
    I got hope inside of my bones

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    11,873

    Default

    Cool. I will try that when I get home or maybe this weekend. It's been a pain in the butt creating a doc on the downstairs laptop and then having to e-mail or flashdrive the doc to the upstairs computer, especially since the computer upstairs is getting old and slow.

  15. The Following User High Fived WTE For This Post:


  16. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Adopted Bronco:
    PTBNL
    Posts
    22,560

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WTE View Post
    Cool. I will try that when I get home or maybe this weekend. It's been a pain in the butt creating a doc on the downstairs laptop and then having to e-mail or flashdrive the doc to the upstairs computer, especially since the computer upstairs is getting old and slow.
    I hear ya.

    If you need to retire that old computer, they have devices like this one that let you plug in the printer and connect it to your network. I used one for a while before I came across an inexpensive laser printer with a built in network port.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833704067
    I got mind control while I'm here
    You goin' hate me when I'm gone
    Ain't no blood clot and no fear
    I got hope inside of my bones

  17. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    11,873

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thnikkaman View Post
    I hear ya.

    If you need to retire that old computer, they have devices like this one that let you plug in the printer and connect it to your network. I used one for a while before I came across an inexpensive laser printer with a built in network port.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833704067
    I'll check it out. That old computer is a Toshiba laptop I bought in 2005 for around $1800. I think the hard drive is going.

    It has a green light in the upper left corner of the keyboard that is either constantly on or constantly blinking quickly. Is this the hard drive light and does this mean my hard drive is over working and ready to die?

Go
Shop AFC Champions and Super Bowl gear at the official online Pro Shop of the Denver Broncos!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-23-2011, 01:40 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-23-2011, 01:10 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2010, 10:10 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-27-2009, 01:40 PM
  5. Networking Question
    By BroncoJoe in forum Technology and Electronics
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 03:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
status.broncosforums.com - BroncosForums status updates
dedicated servers
Partner with the USA Today Sports Media Group