Thread: Broken Arrow High School defeats Union (Okla) High school ending 18 year and 22 game drought

Adopted Bronco:
    Demaryius Thomas

Default Broken Arrow High School defeats Union (Okla) High school ending 18 year and 22 game drought

Maybe not big news to most outside of Oklahoma, but last night the Broken Arrow Tigers (where I graduated from, and where my little sister currently goes) beat the Union Redskins 24-9. It's the first time in 22 meetings, and the first time since 1989 that Broken Arrow defeated their most heated rival in football. It's about dang time...

http://www.tulsaworld.com/sports/ext...3_Broken892555

BROKEN ARROW — While in the midst of the pandemonium as Memorial Stadium's Tiger Field was filled with celebrating students and fans, Broken Arrow senior center Kevin Easley seemed to sum up well the thoughts of his teammates after a 24-9 victory over Union on Friday night.

"This is the greatest feeling in my life," Easley said.

Broken Arrow snapped a 22-game losing streak to Union. The Tigers had not defeated the Redskins since 1989.

The Broken Arrow heroes were numerous in the season opener for both teams. Steven Hopper, a backup tailback who made his first start as a replacement for injured Jerrod Green, rushed for 130 yards on 31 carries and a touchdown.

Senior quarterback Cale Fulps was nearly perfect as he completed 10-of-15 passes for 103 yards and a TD. J.T. Goins had two interceptions, including a 47-yard return for a TD to cap off a stellar night for the Tigers' defense that limited Union tailback Jeremy Smith to 93 yards on 22 carries. Smith had rushed for a combined 314 yards in Union's previous two wins over Broken Arrow.