Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Snus

Adopted Bronco:
    Drew Lock

Default Snus

Cigarettes and I have a long, terrible relationship. Ive been smoking for almost 20 years. Even seeing pops in pain for years and then dead in my living room almost 20 years ago from his 2 packs of Pall Malls a day habit didnt stop me from quitting.

I tried Chantix on recommendation from Clay here. It gave me horrible side effects. I tried cold turkey, hypnosis, the patch and gum, smoking cessation groups... all they talked about was smoking and it made you wanna smoke. My addiction is so strong and the habit is so great, nothing seemed to work.

Now I tried Snus and I like it.

Snus, a type of smokeless tobacco that originates from Sweden, is now being manufactured by the makers of all the biggest brands of cigs, Marlboro, Camel, Newport, etc.

It isnt traditional smokeless like Skoal or Copenhagen. It's powdered tobacco in a little teabag that sits between your cheek and gum. It's spit-free unlike the regular stuff, and it lasts about 30 mins (it says that on the package, but Ive had the flavor last for over an hour). It's pasteurized and supposedly a bit safer than cigarette tobacco that is burned.

Ive been using the Snus for about 5-6 days now, and when Im using it, it feeds my addiction and Im not even thinking about a smoke most of the time. Ive cut down my 25-28 cigarettes per day nasty habit to about 10 a day, and just by doing that Im breathing so much better. Ive smoked less this past week than I have in years. It even inspired me to eat a little better and try to get healthier.

Traditional Swedish snus is even better than the US made stuff. Its manufactured with higher standards and regulated as a food product. Im not saying its a completely safe alternative, but it seems less lethal, at least the genuine snus.