Tebow passes first test with Broncos in minicamp
By Mike Klis
The Denver Post
POSTED: 05/01/2010 01:00:00 AM MDT

Coach Josh McDaniels' eyes are hardly the only ones watching rookie quarterback Tim Tebow on Friday at the Broncos' minicamp. (Craig F. Walker, The Denver Post )
For the first day of their offseason minicamp, the Broncos attracted 32 rookie players and 47 members of the media.

Check that. There was really only one rookie who drew 47 camera toters, notebook scribblers and microphone holders.

Cue the open-top circus music. Here comes Ringmaster Fred. The Tim Tebow Watch has officially begun.

"Honestly, it's just my first day, and I'm a rookie just like everybody else," Tebow said.

Sure he is. And Pikes Peak is just another hill.

At the risk of getting carried away, the media easily could have walked away from their 15-minute viewing period with the impression that Tebow, the former Florida superstar, should have gone 24 spots higher in last week's NFL draft.

Tebow — the only rookie wearing an orange jersey, as all Broncos quarterbacks must during practice — displayed coordination while marching to strength coordinator Rich Tuten's warm-up exercises, agility during a ball-carrying drill over and around blocking dummies, and accuracy during a pitch-and-catch session with equipment manager Mike "Hands" Harrington.

Until Tebow throws his first interception in a preseason game, it may be difficult not to get carried away.

"I think he's done a good job with it," said offensive lineman Zane Beadles, the Broncos' second-round draft pick, who practiced at left and right tackle Friday. "He's come in here, and you can definitely tell he's a winner and loves football. He's talking to guys and already getting the team to pull together."