PDA

View Full Version : My first newspaper article.

Poet
11-02-2009, 12:18 PM
This is a story that I wrote for the Southern Illinoisan, a newspaper located in Carbondale Illinois. It was published in their online edition and I'm unaware if they put it in print. That being said it was my first article that I've written which wasn't part of my college's newspaper and I was paid to do it. It was a great experience and it proved to me that this is what I really want to do with my life. I got to go up to the press box and the sidelines of the game. It was a blast.

Before you get to the article, I am aware of the typos. There was confusion between the paper and I as to when I was supposed to send them the article. I thought I was allowed a little more time than what I had, but it wasn't that big of a deal. They were busy.

Also, I'm posting this here because I think more people would see it and I am a Broncosforums writer....just a lazy one. If the other writers/Chaz/mods feel that this should be moved somewhere else then I have no problem with it and I apologize for the inconvenience.

http://thesouthern.com/sports/football/article_661d20ce-c6a0-11de-97ee-001cc4c03286.html

SHG too much for Carbondale

By Mike Dahmane (That would be me :D), The Southern | Posted: Sunday, November 1, 2009 1:00 am
BLOOMINGTON - The Carbondale Terriers faced off with the Sacred Heart-Griffin Cyclones during the first round of the IHSA playoffs on Halloween.

Unfortunately for Carbondale, the Cyclones started the game off on a hot streak and never looked back in route to their 48-21 victory.

Sacred Heart-Griffin halted the Terriers' first possession of the game and forced a three-and-out. Zach Rockford, a return man for SHG, returned the punt for a touchdown. The Terriers went on to convert a fourth-and-two and their offense was running well until starting quarterback Max Crouse threw his first of two interceptions.