PDA

View Full Version : John Fox explains Julius Thomas' block, defends own reputation

Denver Native (Carol)
10-06-2014, 04:59 PM
John Fox defended his reputation Monday after Arizona Cardinals coach Bruce Arians characterized Julius Thomas' block as the "dirtiest play he's seen in 37 years."

Fox spoke with Arians Sunday night, and provided an explanation Monday of a play that by definition was a chop block with lure, which could result in a fine.

"I talked to (Arians) after the game. I have been doing it for 35 years, not quite 37. It's not the dirtiest play I have seen this year, let alone in 35 years," Fox said. "Not necessarily whether it was the right or wrong technique is that cut blocking is allowed in the National Football League. It's utilized by everybody in the league, but you cannot have the tackle engage in a cut block at the same time. In no way was it intentional. It's never been coached by me or anybody on my staff. In four years I believe it's the first chop blocked called in my tenure. It was a look we had not seen much of. We weren't targeting anyone."

rest - http://www.denverpost.com/broncos/ci_26673924/john-fox-explains-julius-thomas-block-defends-his

Bronco9798
10-06-2014, 05:04 PM
Nothing to read here. Just crying.

Denver Native (Carol)
10-06-2014, 05:44 PM
TEMPE, Ariz. -- A day after his star defensive lineman was sidelined with an MCL strain because of a chop block, Arizona Cardinals coach Bruce Arians said he believes Denver's illegal hit on Calais Campbell was deliberate.

"You'll never convince me it wasn't premeditated," Arians said Monday. "The one guy set him up."

Broncos coach John Fox denied the hit by tight end Julius Thomas, who was flagged in the third quarter for chop blocking Campbell, was intentional. Even though there's no structural damage, Campbell could miss up to three weeks.

rest - http://espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/11653909/nfl-says-chop-block-call-denver-broncos-julius-thomas-was-correct

GEM