PDA

View Full Version : Soccer World Cup

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

Valar Morghulis
05-26-2014, 03:53 PM
I know that some of you might not even be aware this is happening, but in about 2 weeks the Soccer World Cup starts in Brazil. I am quite excited about this and was wondering about some of your predictions for the over all winner - or at least finalists?

I think the winner will be Uruguay. This tournament always throws up a surprise and i think this year that might be Belgium.

I am also going to be bold and state that Spain will not get past the last 16 (end of a dynasty).

Germany have a great shout but in South America - i just fancy someone from South America to win it and something tells me it wont be one of the big two (Brazil or Argentina).

Now that this has been immortalised online - i will be open to ridicule when i am completely wrong!

What your predictions?

MOtorboat
05-26-2014, 04:10 PM
I am just getting into this futbol thing, so I have no clue. I think it sucks that Landon Donovan got left off the U.S. roster

Valar Morghulis
05-26-2014, 04:21 PM
Yeah - i thought that was harsh, he has been a great servant to your team, but sentiment has never won a game.

That said, i would still have taken him, if for no other reason that to help the younger players benefit from his experience. He is also the perfect player to bring on late in a game if they need an "old head" just to steady the rest of the team.

BroncoWave
05-26-2014, 04:22 PM
I would be pretty damn shocked if someone other than Brazil won.

MOtorboat
05-26-2014, 04:22 PM
Damn German coach :D

Valar Morghulis
05-26-2014, 04:24 PM
I would be pretty damn shocked if someone other than Brazil won.

Home advantage will be important, and after all they are Brazil! There is more soccer talent on one brazilian beach at any time than in all the football academys of excellence in all of Scotland!

Jaws
05-26-2014, 04:29 PM
Hoping Suarez recovers in time from his knee surgery.

Valar Morghulis