PDA

View Full Version : Maintaining Their Mentality

Lonestar
09-01-2009, 11:10 PM
By Chris Gentilviso
DenverBroncos.com

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. -- Fourty-eight hours after signing with the Broncos, rookie Alphonso Smith reflected on his first training camp practice with the club.

The veterans had yet to arrive. The curve was just beginning. The intended goal was achieving a head start.

Just over a month has passed since the first-year players took their first steps on the Dove Valley turf. With 48 hours separating Smith from his final preseason game, his mentality has yet to change.

"It's highs and lows," he said. "As a rookie, I'll tell you this. I have a long way to go and I'm going to try to just go in and keep chopping wood and try to get better."

With three preseason games under their belt, the rest of rookies have learned that Smith's latter point is the only thing they are certain to control. Tom Brandstater entered the San Francisco opener holding a clipboard and wearing headset, while watching Kyle Orton and Chris Simms operate the offense for the duration of the game.

Now, Brandstater's mentality remains getting better and better -- as the projected starter for Thursday's date with Arizona. That role change has prompted him to put in extra hours at team headquarters this week, all toward getting that head start.

"As a starting quarterback -- I mean, it actually sounds crazy to say starting quarterback now -- but I'm starting on Thursday," Brandstater said. "There's a lot of work that needs to be put in to be the guy. While the other guys are not here, I'm going to act like I'm the starter. I'm not going to look back until someone tells me I'm not playing anymore."

SHORT WEEK OFFERS WELCOME CHALLENGE

The concept of not looking back has become more illuminated during an abbreviated week of preparation. A collegiate schedule occasionally offers a diversion from Saturday football.