PDA

View Full Version : Youth Football - Strength and Conditioning

Nomad
06-21-2009, 07:54 AM
I know there are a few coaches on here (including myself 11 yr olds). I was trying to get some input and I've been getting some from various coaches around here. I have one son going to the 7th grade this year.

When I was in junior high I don't ever remember lifting weights and I have always been told it's better to start the freshman year of high school which I did. Push ups, 8-counts, pull-ups is what I have my sons do. Anyway talking to some coaches around here they have their 7th/8th graders lifting weights twice a week (nothing heavy) and various conditioning exercises, even the local fitness place here has a program. Do you other coaches here do the same and if so what are your conditioning programs for the summertime??? Thanks for any input!!!

tripleoption
06-21-2009, 01:32 PM
Blitz, I would probably keep it light. I'm no expert at this, as I don't deal with young kids, but everything I've heard is that having young kids lift, especially heavily, can be counterproductive. The health club I belong to doesn't allow anyone under 13 to lift or use the machines. Just my opinion. I'm lucky in that I can have my team do heavy lifting since they're all HS kids.

Nomad
06-21-2009, 02:32 PM