PDA

View Full Version : Denver Broncos Notes,

Lonestar
06-12-2009, 03:52 AM
Quotesby Sports Xchange

Updated: June 12, 2009, 2:20 AM EDT --Knowshon Moreno will make an impact for the Denver Broncos this season. The team didn't draft Moreno with the 12th overall pick to sit on the bench all season.

He hasn't been instantly installed as a starting tailback, however. LaMont Jordan and Correll Buckhalter are working ahead of him in offseason practices, but that doesn't bother Moreno.
"Not at all," Moreno said. "I'm just learning, they've been in the league eight or nine years. Coming behind them and learning from them and maybe one day making my way up there is awesome."

Moreno was drafted as an every-down prospect. His running ability is clear, and Broncos coach Josh McDaniels raved about the way he did little things in college like pick up blitzes and catch the ball.

That makes Moreno a candidate to play a lot as a rookie, but his role is still rather unclear. Jordan knows the offense well, having been with McDaniels in New England last year. Buckhalter is an effective veteran, and he also wasn't signed to sit the bench all year.

Moreno understands the Broncos have a lot of tailback depth, but he also feels like he has the talent to be a good NFL player.

"I'm definitely confident," Moreno said. "I think a lot of guys in the backfield in that room can get the job done, any snap, anyone in that room. I'm trying to find my place and keep on learning."

Even though McDaniels liked that Moreno is pretty polished for a rookie, he said he still has a lot of work to do.

"There's always room for improvement, especially with pass protection and catching the ball and routes and running and reading the defenses," Moreno said. "It's a lot to learn and it's a lot to work on so I'm going to work on all of those things."