PDA

View Full Version : Which D Line Look Will the Broncos Go With?

Ziggy
02-04-2012, 05:47 PM
Last season the Broncos went with a new defensive philosiphy on the defensive line. Xanders stated that they didn't want the big pluggers in the middle. They wanted faster, smaller tackles that could get upfield and be disruptive. Vickerson's 30 pound weight loss in the offseason was by design and suggestion of the coaching staff.

Enter JDR. His defenses have had the huge pluggers at NT. He prefers the bigger D lines. In Carolina he went with big 350 pound Chris Jenkins in the middle. His defenses in Jacksonville consistently had the big uglies on the inside. John Henderson was around 340. He was replaced by Terrance Knighton who is listed at 336, but the staff has made no secret about the fact that he's closer to 350 than 330.

Which way will the Broncos go this season? With Bunkley being a free agent, I think we'll know soon. If JDR chooses to go bigger at NT, Bunk may be gone without a thought. There's a couple of big fellas that should be available in the late first-second round area for the Broncos to pick up should they choose to change philosiphies:
Dontari Poe- 6'5 350
Alameda Ta'amu- 6'2 1/2 341

Both of these guys will move up the draft boards between now and the draft, because they can play in both a 4-3 and a 3-4 defense. I expect both Ta'amu and Poe to make a Phil Taylor type of rise into the first round. If the Broncos want either, they will need to spend that 25th pick on one of them. Both guys are stout against the run and can collapse the pocket. Anyone watch the New England-Baltimore AFC championship game? Vince Wilfork took over that game collapsing the pocket on defense.

In free agency there are a few good options for big men also:
Paul Solai- 6'4 355
Sione Pouha- 6'3 325
Sammy Lee Hill- 6'4 330

MOtorboat
02-04-2012, 06:30 PM
But, but, JDR won't be changing the scheme...

iLands
02-04-2012, 06:59 PM