PDA

View Full Version : How the logo was born: story behind Broncos current logo with early concept sketches & designs

Tned
01-12-2012, 10:10 PM
Rick Bakas sent me a link to his article via Twitter. He was a member of the design team at Nike who was tasked with coming up with a new logo and uniform design back in 1996. Here's a tease, with a link to the full story below.

The Denver Broncos Brand: Fifteen Years Later
January 12th, 2012 By Rick Bakas

As I typed the headline to this blog post it struck me how fast time flies. I still think of the Broncos identity as “new” even though it’s been around for fifteen years. When I look at the horse logo on the side of the helmet it still seems new and modern. Back in 1996 I was a 26-year old assistant designer at NIKE in a department called Team Sports. Team Sports was part of NIKE Apparel, and our mission was to outfit players on field head to toe with NIKE stuff. We created all the on field authentic apparel as well as sideline hats, sweatshirts, t-shirts, pants, jackets and other team gear. To strengthen partnerships with teams, we sometimes redesigned and rebranded them like we did for the Denver Broncos.

Pat Bowlen, owner of the Denver Broncos came to us at NIKE and asked us to design him a horse equivalent of the NIKE swoosh. In his words he said, “I want a horse that looks like it’s going to kick your ass”. In February 1996 a core team came together to give Mr. Bowlen what he wanted. Todd Van Horne was the Creative Director, Ken Black was the Art Director, David Odusanya was Lead Designer and I was the Assistant Designer.

Throughout the project we worked with other creatives from NIKE, but the four of us made up the nucleus of the rebrand team. The first thing we did in the creative process was research. We spent a month getting to know the Broncos as well as they knew themselves (or better). We summed up their entire existence into a brand research book.