PDA

View Full Version : Why Not Tank the Final Game?

Buff
12-27-2010, 02:52 PM
I've always been a guy who says you try to win every game. It goes against everything I stand for to root against my team. Plus, I don't think it's fair to fans or players to purposely tank multiple games... But in this specific instance, I just don't see the upside in a win:

If the Broncos lose, we pick 2nd, if we win, we could pick as low as 6th in the 2011 Draft. It could mean the difference between getting the best defensive player or the 4th best defensive player.

I know conventional wisdom says we owe it to the integrity of the game, yada yada... It would be nice to see Tebow beat Rivers, etc. But in this case, the Chargers have no playoff implications, so it's a completely meaningless game as far as 2010 standings are concerned. The only impact is in the draft.

As a coach, I don't think you can tell players to only go half speed on the field, but you can experiment with playcalling, be ultra conservative, and insert some backups into the lineup.

I know your first instinct is to say that "you play to win the game," but would you really be opposed if Bowlen told Studesville to go out there and assure him the #2 pick?

Day1BroncoFan
12-27-2010, 02:54 PM
:huh:

broncogirl7
12-27-2010, 02:55 PM
I agree..tank the last game if it means 2nd pick in draft instead of 6th. Let Tebow play the hell out of the game to give us a picture of what he can do against a tough defense, but in the end miss the field goal.

Nomad
12-27-2010, 02:56 PM
Better play Quinn then because no way Tebow would be on board with this!!

EDIT: Besides it will be fun and great to watch the BRONCOS win again and go into the offseason on a winning note! I don't know if the BRONCOS will even pick the #2 and maybe they'll trade down for more picks!!

BroncoWave
12-27-2010, 02:57 PM
I'd rather us win. We will still likely be in the top 5 and there will still be a stud d-lineman there.

robert ethan
12-27-2010, 02:58 PM