PDA

View Full Version : A Sentimental Journey

Ziggy
08-24-2008, 07:37 PM
I work as a paramedic for an ambulance company in Colorado Springs. One of the PR programs we have is a community service called Sentimental Journeys. It's very much akin to the Make-A-Wish program, but on a more local level. While at work on Tuesday, I received a page stating that the company needed someone for a sentimental journey to the Broncos vs. Packers game. I immediately got on the phone to find out what the story was. Turns out, a 31 year old Bronco fanatic was diagnosed with terminal lung cancer and wanted to see one last Bronco game in person. I immediately knew that it was something I wanted, and more importantly, needed to do.

For privacy reasons, we'll refer to my patient as Dave. My partner and I arrived at Dave's house at about 4pm. We were greeted in the driveway by his best friend. Inside, we met Dave, his father, and his mother. Now it's hard to explain with words, but most of you will know what I'm talking about. There are times in life when you meet a person or group of people, and even though you've never met, you 'just know' that these are good people. This was one of those times.