PDA

View Full Version : Broncos rookie center Walton to face an old foe

Lonestar
08-21-2010, 01:18 PM
Broncos rookie center Walton to face an old foe
By Jeff Legwold
The Denver Post
POSTED: 08/21/2010 01:00:00 AM MDT

Rookie center J.D. Walton has held his own against some of the elite collegiate defensive linemen in the country. (John Leyba, The Denver Post )
For a guy who spends his workday right smack in the middle of things, J.D. Walton said he wanted to sit this one out. That the past is past and the future is, well, tonight.

"No, I'm not really going to answer anything like that," the Broncos' rookie center said. "I'm not going to give him any potential bulletin board stuff or say something I shouldn't or anything like that. I'm just starting out in this. I'm sorry."

"Him" would be Detroit Lions rookie defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh. Walton, 6-feet-3, 305 pounds, often will be lined up across from Suh in the Broncos' first home preseason game tonight at Invesco Field at Mile High.

They have done this all before, when Walton was at Baylor and Suh was at Nebraska.

It was those collegiate matchups that pushed Walton up several draft boards across the league, including the Broncos', who drafted him in the third round (Suh went No. 2 overall).
"I look at it like you've got to raise your game up for whoever you go against," Walton said. "I consider every game, every play a chance to prove myself, make myself better."

Suh is coming off one of the most dominant seasons in college football history. He had 24 tackles for a loss and 12 sacks last fall, incredible totals for an interior defensive lineman who was routinely double- and triple-teamed.