PDA

View Full Version : Film Study: JD Walton Breakdown.

underrated29
08-16-2010, 10:26 PM
Ok- so I just re watched the entire game focusing only on JD Walton at C. I watched every play that you could see. Because there were a few plays that they were talking or showing advertisements and impossible to see. I also slowed all the plays down in slow mo if it was hard to see live. Keep in mind i am no pro, scout or anything else. So take it for what this is worth.

First off we all know my man crush for this guy as he was my fav pick in the draft. So I am going to try and not be bias. However, I got to start with a big pimp flag waving for him.

The second TD, the Brandon LLoyd TD. Would NOT have happened if not for JD. Crazy huh?

On that play Lloyd made the move back to the inside around the CB. Ray Malualuga was cutting across the field and would have been there to make the tackle, as he just missed, but the reason he missed was because JD crashed through to the second level and got enough of Rey to slow him down!

Pass blocking- JD overall did a good job pass blocking. He still comes out of his stance to high imo and therefore loses leverage. This was readily apparent during the beginning of the game. He would snap the ball and come out high and would then get pushed back. For the most part though he was able to dig in while being pushed back and keep the Defender from making the play. However he did get beat by it a few times. As the game went on I think he got better and adjusted. JD is just a gamer through and through. On quite a few plays throughout the game he would be double teaming with hochstein or beadles. If however he was not needed on the double team- he would break off and slide over to the other side to try and take someone else out. HE did this a lot. I am sure they are trained to do that, but I never watched a C, before and I like that he does it! He does it well.